Tags

, ,


A/N: Happy Friday guys! It’s snowing like crazy here, and our delayed freeze has come, sadly! Anyways I have a chappy of WAH done and dusted, so enjoy and let me know what you think if you’d like! Reviews / messages are appreciated as always and if there are any questions you know I’ll do my best to answer! 🙂

Sookie:

When we got off the train both of us were a little too giddy, everything was funny including the funny looks the majority of the people we passed were giving us. We didn’t care though, I was floating on a cloud I was so content and he looked to be feeling the same things. Life was rarely kind and in this instance I think we were both simply just making the most of the kindness we had finally been dealt.

Eric had the London house opened up for us, there was staff there that I hadn’t met before, and there was no Sam or Amelia to soften the blow of this new set up. Eric assured me they were new for a reason, and while it took me a second, I finally figured out why.

The old ones knew me as Sookie the maid, these ones were to know me as Mrs Northman.

That in itself would take a lot of getting used to, but I was thankful for the reprieve from the stress of Scotland.

“We’re home.” He sighed happily as he flopped himself down on the freshly made bed that would be now ‘our room’ while we were here. I took the time to look out the window, it was snowing still, but less heavy than when we reached the station. Thankfully, the fire in the room was heating up the space nicely. I sat on the windowsill and smiled at him, as he looked at me upside down, from where he laid.

“You happy to be here?” He asked.

“I am. I’m nervous… about where we go from here though.”

He smiled before he got up and came over to sit next to me. It was a tight fit so I almost ended up on his lap. Perhaps that was his intention.

“My love, that’s normal. I am a little nervous too, but I know you can do this, that I can do this with you. We’re strong apart, as individual people, but together…” he blew some air between his lips, “I think we could rule the world if we wanted to.”

I laughed.

“This is what sex does to you, Eric. It makes you think you’re king of the world or something.”

He gasped.

“You mean… I am not? Well, damn.”

I rolled my eyes but before I had the chance to speak again I was hoisted up and thrown rather unceremoniously on the bed.

“What the hell…”

He was on top of me in seconds, that same goofy smile on his face.

“I’m the king of your world, right?”

“Psh…”

 

With that, he tickled me and I squirmed.

No! Don’t. Do not.” I said trying to wriggle away, but to no avail. There was a six four Swede on top of me after all.

“Okay fine, you win! You win!” I said laughing as he finally moved off me.

We both sighed happily, just lying there for a bit.

“I still can’t believe Pam is doing this. Marrying Claude for money.”

With that, I scoffed.

“Eric, seriously? She is really not the first woman to marry a man for his or her own money, and he’s not the first man. I mean, at the very least they are being honest about it. And it’s their own money; they just have to jump through stupid hoops to get it.”

Parents.

If I had kids and had money, they would earn it sure, but not by putting a ring on someone else’s finger by a deadline.

“I know you’re right, I do. I just suppose…”

“That you’re a hopeless romantic deep down and want to believe people only marry out of love?”

He shrugged.

“There are so few of us left.” He grinned and I was glad we were keeping things playful. I checked the clock on the mantel, before pulling myself away.

“We must change if we want to make it there for dinner.”

He groaned.

“No let’s just stay here and consummate some more.”

“Are you going to keep calling it that? You’ve been calling it that since the train.” I slapped his hand away sitting up straight.

He wriggled his brows.

“We don’t have time!” I laughed as he tried to get handsy again. We really did not have the time for it right then.

“Screw Pam…”

I moved then, holding his chin, making him face me as I got in close.

“I. Already. Have.” I said pointedly before I kissed him quickly, he pulled back with a laugh.

“Well, that’s more than Claude will ever be able to say.”

With that, we took our silly mood to get changed to meet the woman that half created Pam.

Can you say ‘gulp?’.

&&&&&&&&&&

Meeting Pam’s mother was an experience to say the least. She was in love with Eric and asked him three times before we even sat down why ‘he wasn’t the one’ marrying her daughter. She stood tall and proud and had that elegance about her that very few women processed naturally. Now I knew where Pam got it. I wanted to like her, but after her third attempt at getting Eric to ‘change Pam’s mind’ I was somewhat annoyed at her brashness. Excuse me, lady but he’s taken, is what I wanted to say. Of course, I did not say it but I did scoot her the evil eye every now and again as she gushed over my husband with glee. Eric being Eric though, he tried to keep her in place, holding my hand through the entire conversation was something I appreciated but not really something she seemed to notice. Shortly after we arrived, Pam then came to our rescue or at the very least my rescue and dragged me upstairs to try on my dress for a final time. She assured Eric that Claude would be along soon and he would have his final fitting.

“My mother loves Eric, in fact if she could have adopted him at eighteen I think she would have.” Pam said with a sigh. “Then we took off around the world, and she became even more annoyed at me, I stopped trying to understand her a long time ago.”

“Does she understand you though?” I asked admiring my dress on the hanger in her dressing room.

“To an extent. Though I wager most parents do not understand their children, it is certainly vice versa for me.”

“Does she understand why you’re marrying Claude is what I want to ask.”

“Oh, well…” She sighed again, picking at the dress and smoothing it down. “I think she does. She’s not the kind of woman to talk about sexuality, sex or even kissing out loud. So, if she does know, she won’t say a thing either way. It takes you a few minutes after meeting Claude with his defenses down to know where his choice in bed mates lies.” She shrugged. “But, she’ll never say. I don’t care either way, I’m marrying him so we can both secure our lives, and that’s what matters.”

I nodded.

“How are things with you and Eric? Like I really need to ask, the look on your faces when you came in, all rosey cheeked and smiling.”

“Pam, it is winter, and there is snow falling, no wonder our cheeks were red.”

“Well, in my head that’s not the reason.” She pouted playfully and I just finished trying on my dress. It fit perfectly but she still had to inspect it.

“Oh, please.”

With that, Eric poked his head around the door.

“Pam, your mother wants to sit down for dinner… so… I’ve been sent to fetch you.” He smiled, clearly enjoying her discomfort.

“Jesus help us.” She said letting down the lace at the back of my dress, allowing me to step out of it with ease. Eric just grinned again before he disappeared.

Dinner was a bit of a disaster.

Eric:

Dinner was a calamity. I knew Vivian could be sharp as a whip when she wanted to be, but it was clear she smelled a rat where this marriage to Claude thing was concerned. No matter how many times Pam assured her that had his own money, in buckets; she was convinced there was something ‘off’ about it.

How she did not know that the off smell she smelt was both of them lying to everyone, I’ll never know. That was not the half of it though, when she turned her attentions to Sookie and I, well that is when things got intense.

“So, Sookie, how does one go from being my daughter’s maid to on the arm of Eric Northman?

Sookie looked to me, her cheeks pink.

“Actually Viv…” I began but she cut me off.

“I was talking to Sookie.”

I forgot Vivian could also be a first class bitch when it suited her.

“I wish I could tell you, Ma’am…”

“Vivian, please.” She corrected her.

“Vivian.” Sookie corrected herself. “But we just clicked, I suppose you could say, and being without each other was too difficult.”

“Despite your status?”

Sookie smiled, it was the same nervous fake smile she used around Dawn.

“Despite that.” She chewed her meat discreetly before continuing. “My circumstance changed a great deal in a short period of time, some of which I’m sure Pam has told you?”

Viv then looked to her daughter with a sigh.

“No, my daughter doesn’t tell me much of anything, ever.”

“Oh…” Sookie added awkwardly. “Well, I come… originally from a well-to-do family I guess you could say, Ma…Vivian, in Louisiana, my Grandfather was a well-respected man who even became Mayor of our little town back home before he passed, and my Grandmother on my Father’s side was very involved with the town and the church.”

That peaked her interest.

“Continue.”

Sookie took a deep breath.

“And my parents, while they came from a little money, wanted to invest and grow the town too… in business. My mother and father opened a modest, but very popular bakery in Bon Temps for a time, before they too passed on.”

“Interesting… very interesting. Pam did tell me for a time you had fancied the idea of baking.”

She nodded.

“I did, I still do… but I’ve had some problems with my hands for some months now, it makes it a little more difficult to do it all myself. But, while we were in Paris I was earning from it and experimenting with flavours, which I loved to do.”

“And now? Now you marry Eric and give that all up?”

I bristled in my seat. She really was stirring the pot, wasn’t she?

“I don’t really know, perhaps.” She looked to me and I had to step in then, Vivian was being too hard on her and I did not like it, not one little bit.

“And do you two plan on being wed soon?” She asked and I took this one.

“Sooner than you may think.”

“Well, you’d need to get a move on, if this nonsense with Pamela has taught me anything it is that these things take so much time to plan these days. When I wed her father it was two weeks tops and everything was very simple but elegant, not this over the top nonsense that Pam insists upon.”

Pam rolled her eyes.

“I only plan on having one wedding, why shouldn’t I make it fantastic?” She argued and they got into then, leaving Sookie and I out of it.

Thankfully.

Taking the motorcar back to Niall’s London house that night, just the two of us, I was able to breathe a sigh of relief. Sookie had noticed the tension but had remained patient and graceful even under the fiery breath of Vivian.

SPOV:

When we got back to the privacy of our own place, we took to our bedroom where our nightcap of lemon tea was delivered by Mary.

She asked if I wanted her to help me undress, to which Eric promptly answered making her and I blush.

“No, Mary, she has me for that tonight.”

Mary left the room promptly. I tried my best to chastise him, but as always, I could not stay too mad at him for long at all.

He kissed my neck as I took off my necklace, undoing my dress from behind.

“Someone’s eager.” I said with a giggle.

“Mmm.” He whispered in to my neck. “For you, always.”

By the time we were both down to our under clothes, he had a curious look on his face just as we got into bed.

“Something wrong?” I asked, propping myself up on my hand facing his side of the bed as he got in too.

“I don’t know, I sort of regret the train sex.”

That surprised me.

“Why?”

“Well, for your wedding night, I should have been more. It should have been more… romantic or something, shouldn’t I have planned something –“

“Love, we’ve both done the big wedding, and we’ve both done the big leading up to sex wedding night. Sure, there might have been roses last time and romantic lighting, but the end result was a lot less pleasurable than any encounter I ever had with you, with ring or without.”

With that, he tried to contain his grin, but failed, he failed hard.

“Stop laughing.” I said, slapping him playfully.

“I’m sorry I can’t help it, it’s just good to know that’s all.”

“Men, I swear to God, it’s not a competition!” I sighed.

“No, of course it’s not, because I am clearly not only the saner of your two husbands thus far in life, but I am arguably the more attractive, more attentive, more a… something that starts with ‘a’ that makes me an awesome lover.”

I couldn’t help but giggle at his way with words, I liked that we could be this relaxed and real with each other, another vast difference from my ‘first’ marriage.

“It was awful truth be told, horrid really.”

“It’s wrong and I shouldn’t want to pry…”

“But you’re a nosy so and so and really want to?” I asked as he moved the blankets around us a little more.

“You don’t have to talk about it.”

I just shook my head; thankfully, I was detached enough from that other life now that it really did in a way, feel like it happened to someone else.

“Bill wasn’t a huge fan of touching, violently he sure knew all the spots to hit where the bruising would be minimal, but sexually, intimately, he was clueless. My first time ever was obviously with him, and I was as green as the grass on the hill.” I sighed. “I was that naïve. My Grandmother never spoke of sex, and my friends knew as little as I did, so the wedding night for all that I was imagining, it was nothing of the sort really. He was a little drunk, I was not drunk enough. He tore at my dress and my underwear so harshly that he cut me before we even got naked. When we did, he sort of examined me, like you’d do a horse you just bought at a sale.” I sighed again, remembering it so clearly it almost made me angry at how stupid and uninformed I was. I was barely eighteen; I should give my former self a break.

“Needless to say when we got ‘down to business’, it wasn’t pleasant and it certainly didn’t last any longer than ten minutes at most, I was left sore and messy, and so beyond confused about it all.”

“Sookie…” He began with a sympathetic look on his face. It was not necessary really, but sweet all the same.

“Not much changed in our lives when it came to sex, for the first few years I was just ‘there’ but not really there, you know?”

He nodded.

I broke myself out of memory lane; it was not healthy to go back there, not at all.

“Anyway, that was the past and I certainly don’t intend on repeating any of it, so trust me, our train sex was wonderful for what it was. Fun, sexy, spontaneous, against everyone’s rules…”

“A little like us in general then.”

“A little like us indeed.”

We did not consummate that night, instead choosing to just talk and plan and cuddle with nothing lighting the room around us except for the glow of the fireplace across the room.

The next morning however, it was only right to consummate some more. I made him promise then to stop calling it that once and for all!

***********

 

“You know, you two really should be more careful.” Pam advised.

“What do you mean?”

“I mean all this fucking that you’re obviously partaking in, I mean I know you both aren’t exactly traditionalists and that’s fine, but the scandal of a bump in the wedding pictures might be harder to live down than your secret past.”

“I’m not pregnant.”

Yet.”

I didn’t make eye contact, but I knew she was right.

“Well, I’m not.”

“You sound somewhat bitter about that fact or am I picking it up wrong?”

“No, I’m not bitter…” I was scared though.

“But you are … apprehensive?”

“What if it doesn’t happen?”

“Oh, psh, Sookie…”

“No, seriously Pam. He and I have been… sexing it up right nice for a while now and nothing, not so much as a missed… monthly.”

She pursed her lips as our car came to a halt, her driver helping us both out to the snowy streets of London. We were shopping and picking up the last of the wedding items.

“My darling, it will happen when it’s meant to.”

“But that’s my point, after everything what if it’s not meant to. I’m an ex liar who murdered her husband and he’s a widow and you know, maybe God is just sitting up there and saying ‘well none for you, you horrible woman you!’ What if that!” I whispered harshly, more mad at myself than anything.

She sighed.

“Honey, it’ll happen, and with the rate you two have been going at it, I’d wager soon.”

We walked up Oxford Street and the flurry of people never ceased to amaze me, in and out of stores, boxes, bags, Ladies and Gents just about everywhere you looked. As much as I didn’t feel like I had earned the right to spend his money, his insistence teamed with Pam’s, as well as the reality that I did indeed need to dress for the part I now played helped me give in. We hit Selfridges with a bang and of course Pam was greeted like their lifelong friend, most of the staff in face were on first name basis with her. I shuddered to think how much of her fortune she had sunk into places like this. If her wardrobe and shoe collection were anything go by, it was an awful lot.

“I like these, and these. Red suits you ever so much, and Eric likes red.” She said as I browsed.

“Well, he’s not the one wearing it is he; he’d look awfully funny in a drop waist silk dress.” I giggled as picked up some sweet necklaces. In two hours I had bought six items, to Pam this ‘wasn’t near enough’. Apparently, I needed a new coat, but nothing jumped out at me. I would be needing something extra warm, my first Winter in England taught me that, my first in Scotland more so.

“What about some lingerie?” She wriggled her brows at me with a whisper in her voice.

“Oh I don’t…”

“Okay so not for you, for me, for my wedding night.” She commented as we browsed that section, imported French this, Italian that. It was underwear, barely there underwear; it baffled me that it cost more than a full dress!

“Pam you do realise…”

“That my husband won’t be the one warming my bed on our wedding night, yes, Darling, I know.” She smirked and I just shook my head. “It doesn’t mean either of us will be going to bed alone, however.”

I just grinned at her, I loved how she just did not care what others thought of her, it still amazed me even after all this time.

“I had to laugh at Eric though; I mean no man has ever had to force me to take their money before. And you’re his fiancée, you really should realise it’s your right, now.”

We were having lunch, and the money subject was still a touchy one for me, even though everyone was official and done, and I was his wife – more than a fiancée, and I was ‘entitled’ to it, it was still a long road from housemaid to Lady with endless funds. It would take a lot of getting used to, and even then I was not so sure I would ever be so used to having access to all that money again.

“Having to ask you to buy him new winter items just to get you to the shops… You would never have to ask me twice. Hell, you’d never have to ask me period, I love to spend.”

“Yes, as proof of your dwindling trust fund, the one you told me would last you years without getting married? What happened to that?”

She rolled her eyes.

“Oh, it’s still there, some of it at least. I was to be damned however if I let that other money just slip through my fingers, darling. A woman in this day and age can never be too thin or too rich, and luckily for me, I’m both.” She cooed and I laughed. There was no shame whatsoever, and I loved it.

“You are bad.”

“To the bone.” She quirked her perfectly shaped brow at me.

“Now, what do we get Eric? What does he want? Besides you in his bed every night.”

I blushed hoping the women at the next table had not heard, I wish I had her scruples when it came to things like this! Or maybe her lack of them would be more precise.

“I think some new scarves and gloves perhaps, and some sweaters… and maybe that lingerie that we were looking at…”

She grinned big and wide.

“That’s my girl!

In between trying on new frocks, and giving the ladies Eric’s measurements for suits and picking up some new ties into the bargain, I managed to slip away from Pam to the jewellery department, I wanted to buy him a wedding band as a surprise. We hadn’t really gotten around to picking out rings, but my engagement ring was really enough, and whatever band he chose to go with that I had no doubt I would love. I was just paying for the purchase when Pam appeared behind me.

“Oh, what did we buy? A new necklace? Some baubles perhaps?” She had a coy look on her face, and I crumbled. I did not know how it was so, but I never really could lie to her.

“I… I… no… It’s just a thing…a small thing it’s really not –“

“Here’s your purchase, Madam.” The girl behind the counter said so sweetly as it was all wrapped up in its box and then in a bag.

“Sookie why are you in the wedding ring section?”

“Am I?” Horrible person.

“Yes.” She sounded out. “Something I should know? You said you both hadn’t planned a wedding yet…Why would you need to be the one picking out the bands alone?”

“I … “ I had nothing.

“Becausewe’realreadymarried. Okay maybe we should head home.”

“Wait, what?”

We stopped short, as she grabbed my arm to still me and make me face my cowardly ways.

“We… sort of eloped before we came to London.”

Her eyes widened with shock. Uh-oh.

“What?! You both got married?!”

“I … well yes we did, but you know… We didn’t want to make it about us, not this week…”

“Sookie…”

“Really, we were going to tell you after, this is your wedding time and we know that, we just didn’t a big fuss.”

She frowned then.

“Sookie, I’m so happy for both of you. Now, tomorrow, whenever you both chose to get married I was and am going to be nothing but thrilled.”

I smiled relieved.

“Really?”

“Yes, silly! Sook, you and Eric, you’re both my family, more so than my biological family you know that by now. I mean, I won’t lie.” She said as she linked her arm with mine as our free hands held our purchases. The rest followed by shop workers taking them to the car for us, I was not so sure I’d get used to that either. “I am more than a little miffed I wasn’t invited.” She sighed but I nudged her.

“We knew you’d make a fuss, it’s your way. And, I say that with love.”

She giggled.

“Oh I know, I make such a fuss over things but it’s just because I care and I don’t care for a lot of people but those I do care about I fuss over, I don’t see it as a bad thing.”

“It’s not. Really. However, it is just now how we wanted things to be. We’d both done the big white wedding and this wasn’t really like that.”

She nodded turning to hug me quickly before we reached her car.

“Well, I am thrilled for both of you, truly.”

I knew she was.

“Now, let’s talk about my big white wedding some more!”

And with that the weight was off my shoulders and it was preparing to hold the weight of her outrageously expensive bride’s maid dress.

Big white wedding indeed I realised as the snow began to fall heavier and heavier!

 

Enhanced by Zemanta
